Please select your state
so that we can show you the most relevant content.

Senator Sasse: Protecting Nebraskans from Harmful Tariffs

Mar 5, 2019 by AFP

LINCOLN, NE – Americans for Prosperity-Nebraska (AFP-NE) today announced the launch of a digital advertisement campaign thanking Senator Sasse for sponsoring bipartisan legislation that would give Congress a vote on certain tariffs proposed by a president before they can take effect. AFP has endorsed S. 287, the Bicameral Congressional Trade Authority Act, and launched online ads to both thank eight original bill sponsors and to encourage specific senators and representatives to cosponsor the legislation.

View the thank you ad here.


AFP-Nebraska State Director Jessica Shelburn issued the following statement:

“Agriculture is the backbone of our state’s economy and tariffs continue to hurt one of our state’s most important industries. Not only are tariffs a tax that punish consumers with higher prices and disrupt employer supply chains, but they undermine what our farmers do best – help meet global demand for our agricultural products. We thank Senator Sasse for standing up for his constituents and opposing these barriers to economic growth. AFP-NE urges Senator Sasse to continue fighting to remove all trade barriers and pursue free, American trade that benefits the most Americans with a better economy, better jobs, and lower prices.”


For real-life warnings from Nebraska businesses against tariffs, view Trade Builds America’s Tariff Testimonials page here.

Trade has been a top priority for Americans for Prosperity. Last year, Americans for Prosperity and its network partners announced a multi-year, multimillion-dollar initiative championing the benefits of trade. The organizations also released a list of trade principles and policy recommendations the campaign will advance.

Recently, Americans for Prosperity and Freedom Partners have highlighted the effects tariffs have had on consumers and their work in building the policy coalitions to oppose tariffs:

The thank you ads target the following lawmakers: Sens. Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), and Ben Sasse (R-Neb.); Reps. Mike Gallagher (R-Wis.), Ron Kind (D-Wis.), Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), and Darin LaHood (R-Ill.)

The encouragement ad target the following lawmakers: Senators Michael Bennet (D-Colo.); Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.); Ben Cardin (D-Md.); Thomas Carper (D-Del.); Bob Casey (D-Pa.); Bill Cassidy (R-La.); Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.); Mike Crapo (R-Idaho); Ted Cruz (R-Texas); Steve Daines (R-Mont.); Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.); Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa); Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.); Tim Kaine (D-Va.); Robert Menendez (D-N.J.); Pat Roberts (R- Kan.); Tim Scott (R-S.C.); Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.); Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska); John Thune (R-S.D.); Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.); Roger Wicker (R-Miss.); and Representatives Vern Buchanan (R-Fla.); Danny Davis (D-Ill.); Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.); Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.); George Holding (R-N.C.); ; Dale Kildee (D-Mich.); Kenny Marchant (R-Texas); Stephanie Murphy (D-Fla.); Devin Nunes (R-Calif.); Bill Pascrell (D-N.J.); Tom Rice (R-S.C.); Dave Schweikert (R-Ariz.); and Jason Smith (R-Mo.).