Please select your state
so that we can show you the most relevant content.

MEDIA ADVISORY: AFP Unveils 2019 Scorecard, Announces Defender of Liberty and Activist of the Year Award Recipients

Dec 10, 2019 by AFP

MANCHESTER, NH – Americans for Prosperity-New Hampshire (AFP-NH) will unveil its 2019 legislative scorecard and present Rep. Jason Osborne with the grassroots group’s Tom Thomson Defender of Liberty award at the group’s annual Christmas Party on Thursday.

What: AFP-NH Annual Christmas Party

Who: Americans for Prosperity
Rep. Jason Osborne and other NH state legislators

When: December 12th

Where: Backyard Brewery
1211 South Mammoth Road
Manchester, NH

The award’s namesake, Tom Thomson has served as the Honorary Chairman of AFP-NH since the chapter’s inception in 2008. In 2015, AFP-NH State Director Greg Moore announced the award would be renamed after Thomson. Thomson, the son of former Governor Mel Thomson, has popularized and maintained “The Pledge” to oppose any broad-based sales or income tax in New Hampshire. He is also active at AFP events, with his iconic “Ax the Tax” ax that his father made famous.

The scorecard empowers Granite Staters to hold their legislators accountable for their votes concerning economic freedom and creating a society of mutual benefit, where people succeed based off helping others.

You can view the scorecard here.

68 legislators were awarded the General John Stark Protector of Freedom Award, given to those legislators who received an A+ grade from AFP-NH for casting a pro-free market vote in each of the key votes before their respective body. 75 legislators earned the Ebenezer Mudgett Champion of Freedom Award, given to those legislators who received an A grade from AFP-NH and cast votes in at least half of the key votes.

The grassroots group will also be giving away their Activist of the Year award at the event.