Please select your state
so that we can show you the most relevant content.

Americans for Prosperity Press Release

Americans for Prosperity Launches “Pioneers for Prosperity” Congressional Awards

Dec 14, 2022 by AFP

Arlington, VA – For the first time, Americans for Prosperity (AFP) will recognize 73 members of Congress with “Pioneers for Prosperity” awards. The “Pioneer for Prosperity” title is given to lawmakers who were policy champions in the 117th Congress, on the frontlines of opposing bad ideas and proactively advancing principles and policies that offer solutions to Americans facing barriers to their upward mobility and success.

“A ‘Pioneer for Prosperity’ is someone who goes beyond just lining up and voting the right way on each piece of legislation,” said Akash Chougule, Vice President at Americans for Prosperity. “They champion policy solutions, build winning coalitions, advocate passionately for their principles, and do what’s right even when it’s politically difficult. Leadership doesn’t always show up in a roll call or a scorecard, and in the 117th Congress – with a number of harmful bills to stand against and better alternatives to fight for – these individuals stood for freedom and opportunity for all Americans.”

The 117th Congress saw members of the House and Senate vote for trillions of dollars in misguided spending that has done little to alleviate the economic anxiety millions continue to feel. Many of the “Pioneers for Prosperity” stood strong and led against ill-advised legislation like the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, the corporate welfare CHIPS Act, and the so-called Inflation Reduction Act. They’ve also been leaders on policy solutions around critical issues such as reforming the federal budget, increasing domestic energy production, expanding choices in healthcare, and promoting flexibility for workers.

2022 Pioneers for Prosperity:

U.S. Senate

Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.)

U.S. House of Representatives

Gary Palmer (R-Ala.), French Hill (R-Ark.), David Schweikert (R-Ariz.), Michelle Steel (R-Calif.), Byron Donalds (R-Fla.), Scott Franklin (R-Fla.), Maria Elvira Salazar (R-Fla.), Kat Cammack (R-Fla.), Randy Feenstra (R-Iowa), Ashley Hinson (R-Iowa), Marinette Miller Meeks (R-Iowa), Rick Allen (R-Ga.), Buddy Carter (R-Ga.), Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.), Victoria Spartz (R-Ind.), Jake LaTurner (R-Kan.), Tracey Mann (R-Kan.), James Comer (R-Ky.), Mike Johnson (R-La.), Steve Scalise (R-La.), Tim Walberg (R-Mich.), Tom Emmer (R-Minn.), Jason Smith (R-Mo.), Matt Rosendale (R-Mont.), Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Richard Hudson (R-N.C.), Patrick McHenry (R-N.C.), Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.), Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.), Warren Davidson (R-Ohio), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio), Kevin Hern (R-Okla.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Fred Keller (R-Pa.), Dan Meuser (R-Pa.), Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Nancy Mace (R-S.C.), Ralph Norman (R-S.C.), Joe Wilson (R-S.C.), William Timmons (R-S.C.), Dusty Johnson (R-S.D.), John Curtis (R-Utah), Blake Moore (R-Utah), Burgess Owens (R-Utah), Jodey Arrington (R-Texas), Kevin Brady (R-Texas), Tony Gonzales (R-Texas), August Pfluger (R-Texas), Chip Roy (R-Texas), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), Beth Van Duyne (R-Texas), Ben Cline (R-Va.), Bob Good (R-Va.), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wash.), Dan Newhouse (R-Wash.), Tom Tiffany (R-Wis.).

AFP tracks a wide range of issues presented to Congress and how lawmakers respond, whether that’s drafting or co-sponsoring legislation, working behind the scenes to build support, advocating back home and in Washington, DC for their views, or standing up to powerful voices on the wrong side of the debate.