Americans for Prosperity Press Release

AFP-Wyoming Announces 11 New Endorsements for 2024 Primary Elections

Jun 17, 2024 by AFP

CHEYENNE, WY – Americans for Prosperity – Wyoming (AFP-WY) today announced its endorsement of 10 new candidates for state Senate and House of Representatives ahead of the August primary election.

The endorsement of these candidates, including six non-incumbents, combined with AFP-WY’s earlier endorsement of five other candidates for the primary will be the single largest investment in Wyoming state-level politics in history.

As the state’s premier grassroots organization, AFP-WY knows the issues that Wyomingites care about most and will make sure they get leaders in Cheyenne who represent their interests.

AFP-WY State Director, Tyler Lindholm, gave the following statement: 

After a chaotic and unproductive state legislative session this year, it’s time to remake the state House and Senate into legislative bodies that actually work for Wyomingites. We’re tired of Cheyenne mimicking the dysfunction and heavy-handedness of Washington, D.C.

“These civil and principled leaders will fight for Wyoming values and get to work on the innovative and forward-thinking policy solutions that Wyoming should be known for.” 

Endorsed candidates

State Sen. Jared Olsen (SD-08): Olsen has been a critical partner to AFP-WY in the Senate with his leadership on public safety reform, pushing for civil asset forfeiture reform, and ending qualified immunity. He has also been a trusted voice on expanding educational freedom and advocating for the state’s charter school system.

Robert Hendry (non-incumbent, SD-30): As a former county commissioner and cattleman, Hendry understands the impact of how overburdensome regulations can get in the way of a healthy economy. In office, he will help businesses grow by cutting red tape and making sure Wyoming remains a Right-to-Work state.

Jackie Van Mark (non-incumbent, HD-05): Jackie Van Mark, as a small business owner with a background in the agriculture sector, will work to make sure that Wyoming remains a leader in domestic energy production. She is a principled conservative who will support responsible spending and removing government barriers innovative health care solutions.

State Rep. JT Larson (HD-17): Larson has been a leading voice against overburdensome regulations in land management rules that have hampered Wyoming’s energy production. He is a trusted leader in education reform who will keep fighting to expand school choice across the state.

Cat Urbigkit (non-incumbent, HD-20): Urbigkit is a Wyoming rancher and shepherd with a deep understanding of energy production, conservation, and land management. Her proven track record of thoughtfulness and civility on divisive issues will make her an exemplary House member.

State Rep. Dalton Banks (HD-26): In his first term in office, Banks proved himself to be a champion for education freedom, fervently supporting the landmark Education Savings Account (ESA) bill. He has been a consistent voice in support of key reforms to Wyoming’s economic and labor policy and will continue fighting against overburdensome regulations that prevent the responsible development of Wyoming’s natural resources.

Rob. Geringer (non-incumbent, HD-42): Geringer is a freedom fighter who will bring a fresh new voice to the House on education and energy reform. With his experience in the energy and public utility sectors, he is poised to become a key voice in support of energy development and deregulation.

Speaker Pro Tempore Clark Stith (HD-48): Stith, the House Speaker Pro Tempore, has been a valuable partner to AFP-WY in his leadership position on expanding ESAs and will continue the fight this year to make the program universal. In his position on the Regulatory Reduction Task Force, Stith has become a leading voice in favor of cutting regulations to turbocharge domestic energy production.

David Hill (non-incumbent, HD-50): Hill is a fervent advocate of education freedom who will work next year to finish the job on ESAs and protect parental rights. AFP-WY looks forward to working with him to remove the barriers preventing energy production across the state.

State Rep. Daniel Singh (HD-61): After just one term in office, Daniel Singh has already distinguished himself as a leading voice in favor of deregulation, occupational licensing reform and technology policy that will make Wyoming the best place to grow and start a business. He will be a valuable partner to AFP-WY in fighting for a fairer criminal justice system that gives more second chances.

Edis Allen (non-incumbent, HD-62): Allen is a strong newcomer to the Wyoming political arena who is ready to get to work growing the economy and slashing regulations. As a small business owner, Allen knows exactly what kind of reforms are needed to get government out of the way of economic growth. AFP-WY is also eager to work with him on improving public safety and expanding access to ESAs.