Please select your state
so that we can show you the most relevant content.

AFP-FL Announces Thanksgiving Campaign Calling for Congressional Action on Crucial Issues

Nov 19, 2018 by AFP

Grassroots group urges end of year action in Congress, invites Floridians to make their voices heard on criminal justice reform, spending, and trade

Tallahassee, FL –Americans for Prosperity–Florida (AFP-FL) announced a targeted direct mail and digital campaign urging lawmakers to take on the country’s toughest challenges before the end of the year. Over the Thanksgiving holiday Floridians will receive mailers and see digital ads thanking lawmakers who’ve championed reining-in government spending, criminal justice reform, and free trade policies. In addition, AFP-Florida’s partner organization, The LIBRE Initiative, will send mailers and release digital ads thanking lawmakers for leadership on immigration and finding a solution for DREAMERS. The campaign will ask constituents to call lawmakers and encourage them to bridge partisan divides and get to work in the upcoming legislative session.

Floridians in the 1st Congressional District (Rep. Matt Gaetz) will receive direct mail and digital recognizing leadership on reining in out-of-control spending.

View trade mail

View spending mail

View immigration mail

View criminal justice reform mail

AFP-FL State Director Chris Hudson had this to say about the campaign:

“As Floridians gather to give thanks over the holidays, we want to take the opportunity to encourage lawmakers to join together and tackle our country’s toughest challenges. Before we celebrate the opportunities coming in the new year, there is critical work to be done in Washington – work that requires bipartisanship and principled leadership. Now is the time for Washington to rein in out-of-control spending, eliminate tariffs, and find a permanent solution for DREAMERS. We think hearing from their constituents will embolden these lawmakers to get bold solutions over the finish line before the year ends.”


  • Koch Network Looks To Bring Lawmakers Together on Major Priorities Post-Midterms
  • AFP is thanking the following U.S. Senators and Representatives for supporting U.S. jobs by opposing harmful tariffs and supporting American trade: Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chris Coons (D-DE), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Susan Collins, (R-ME), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Mike Lee (R-UT), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Rand Paul (R-KY), and Pat Toomey (R-PA) and Representatives Terri Sewell (D-AL), Greg Meeks (D-NY), Ron Kind (D-WI), Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Kevin Brady (R-TX), Don Bacon (R-NE), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Warren Davidson (R-OH), and Steve Chabot (R-OH).
  • AFP is also asking the following Senate and House lawmakers to support U.S. jobs by opposing harmful tariffs and supporting American trade: Senators Tim Scott (R-SC), Doug Jones (D-AL) and Patty Murray (D-WA), and Representatives Collin Peterson (R-MN) and Will Hurd (R-TX).
  • On the issue of out-of-control spending, AFP is thanking the following U.S. Senators and Representatives for voting to rein in spending: Senators Rand Paul (R-KY), John Barrasso (R-WY), David Purdue (R-GA), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Mike Lee (R-UT), James Lankford (R-OK), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Steve Daines (R-MT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Mike Crapo (R-ID) and Representatives Justin Amash (R-MI), Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Rod Blum (R-IA), Dave Brat (R-VA), Ted Budd (R-NC), Warren Davidson (R-OH), Tom Emmer (R-MN), Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Andy Harris (R-MD), Jim Jordan (R-OH), Mark Meadows (R-NC), Scott Perry (R-PA), Alex Mooney (R-WV), Thomas Massie (R-KY), John Ratcliffe (R-TX), Lloyd Smucker (R-PA) and Mark Walker (R-NC).
  • On the FIRST STEP Act, AFP is thanking U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chuck Grassley (R-IA, Lindsay Graham (R-SC), Mike Lee (R-UT), Rand Paul (R-KY), and Tim Scott (R-SC) for supporting the reforms and encouraging Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Brian Schatz (D-HI) and Dan Sullivan (R-AK) to support the bill.