{{ AFP National Site

Stop the Internet Sales Tax

Americans for Prosperity is proud to join a coalition of organizations calling on Congress to oppose the Marketplace and Internet Tax Fairness Act. This legislation would grant new taxing authority to states on businesses outside of their jurisdiction and create a host of new regulatory and compliance burdens. We’ve joined with several other organizations to […]


Fight a New Tax on Online Services in Tennessee

March 11, 2013 J,

Help us fight against a new tax on tourists and small businesses, right here in Tennessee. Click here to tell your state senator you oppose any new service taxes. There is a bill in the state Senate, SB 212 that would create a new tax on internet-based services. Local governments in Tennessee already collect taxes on hotel and […]

Take Action: Oppose Medicaid Expansion in Tennessee

March 11, 2013 J,

President Obama wants Tennessee to help operate his health care law by agreeing to expanding Medicaid. The carrot being waved to state legislators is for three years the federal government will pick up the tab, after that the states will only be asked to take on a small percentage of the cost. Unfortunately, there is […]

Tell Gov. Haslam and the Legislature: Do Not Implement ObamaCare in Tennessee

July 26, 2012 J,

The fight to protect our health care freedom continues even after the Supreme Court’s disappointing ruling.  In Tennessee, Governor Haslam and the legislature must now decide whether the state will move forward with implementing thousands of bureaucratic directives from Washington, D.C. through a health care exchange. Tell Governor Haslam and legislators to “Stop Obama’s Health […]

Naming Names: Nashville’s Taxpayer Heros and Zeros

June 20, 2012 J,

Here are the Nashville Metro Council who voted for the whopping 13% property tax increase: ‘Taxpayer Zeros’ Megan Barry, At-Large Member Ronnie Steine, At-Large Member Tim Garrett, At-Large Member Charlie Tygard, At-Large Member Jerry Maynard, At-Large Member Lonnell Matthews Jr., District 1 Frank Harrison, District 2 Walter Hunt, District 3 Brady Banks, District 4 Scott Davis, District 5 Peter […]