Economic Freedom Scorecard

Sep 4, 2014 by AFP

Indianapolis – Today, the Indiana chapter of Americans for Prosperity, the Hoosier state’s leading advocate for lower taxes and fiscal responsibility, released its Economic Freedom Scorecard for the 118th General Assembly. The comprehensive, two-year vote analysis covers votes in the Indiana House and Indiana Senate which had the greatest impact on Hoosiers’ economic freedom. This is the first official scorecard produced by the organization in Indiana.

“This scorecard is a way for us to communicate with our 50,000 Hoosier activists on how their state legislators are voting on key issues related to economic freedom,” stated Chase Downham, Indiana State Director of Americans for Prosperity. “This helps us recognize those state legislators who stand out as champions for economic freedom and those who fail to consistently support policies which protect taxpayers and advance freedom in education and the workplace.”

Click here to view the complete Economic Freedom Scorecard.

Fifty votes were used in the publication for both the Indiana House and Senate. Legislation used in the construction of the scorecard fall into three main categories including taxpayer, educational freedom and workplace freedom issues. No vote was scored more than once and in nearly every situation the final vote on the bill was used as the scored vote. State legislators must have voted on at least half of the bills used in the analysis in order to receive a score. Missed votes were not counted against state legislators.

Final scores in the document range from 33% to 98%. The highest scores in the Indiana House come from Representatives Tim Harman (Bremen) and Eric Koch (Bedford) at 90%. The highest score in the Indiana Senate and the entire Indiana General Assembly belongs to Senator Jim Banks (Columbia City) at 98%. Those state legislators who earned the top five scores in each chamber are given the designation – “Champions of Prosperity.”

Champions of Prosperity

Indiana House Indiana Senate
Wes Culver – Goshen Jim Banks – Columbia City
Dave Frizzell –   Indianapolis Mike Delph – Carmel
Tim Harman – Bremen Scott Schneider – Indianapolis
Eric Koch – Bedford Jim Smith – Charlestown
Tim Wesco – Osceola Mike Young – Indianapolis