Thank Texas Congressional Members Who Voted Against the Bloated Farm Bill

June 21, 2013

Americans for Prosperity-Texas comments Texas congressional members who voted NO on the final passage of the 2013 Farm bill, H.R. 1947. These Congressmen promised to shrink government and cut spending. This was an important first step in addressing federal government overspending.

“The Farm Bill failed to reform the system and replaced the direct payment program for certain commodities with a revenue-guarantee program which will cost taxpayers even more. The bill also fails to add taxpayer protections to food stamp programs, which account for 80 percent of the spending in the bill. Food stamp costs have doubled since 2008,” said Peggy Venable, AFP-Texas Director.

“We regret that the bloated bill neither included the proposal to separate the nutrition title form the rest of the bill, nor the proposal to turn the food stamp program into a block-grant. Now the House of Representatives has a chance to go back to the drawing board to reform Farm Bill programs in ways that match current economic realities.”

We applaud Representatives Kevin Brady, John Culberson, Louis Gohmert, Jeb Hensarling and Steve Stockman for their vote to oppose this bloated bill.

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP