{{ AFP National Site
s

URGENT – Seniors Deserve Tax Relief

April 16, 2014 J

Please contact these key votes on the SB 1427 and ask them to REPEAL the Hall Tax.

Call or email now!

Hall Income Tax Repeal Vote is TODAY.

Gerald McCormick

615-741-2548

Rep.gerald.mccormick@Capitol.tn.gov

 

Michael Harrison

615-741-7480

Rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov

 

Steve McDaniel

615-741-0750

Rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov

 

Dennis Roach

615-741-2534

Rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov

 

Kevin Brooks

615-741-1350

Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

 

David Hawk

615-741-7482

Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov

 

David Alexander

615-741-8695

Rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov

 

Charles Sargent

615-741-6808

Rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov

 

Gary Odom

615-741-4410

Rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov

 

Craig Fitzhugh

615-741-2134

Rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov

 

Karen Camper

615-741-1898

Rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov

 

Joe Armstrong

615-741-0768

Rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov

 

 

More Info on the Hall Tax: Americans for Prosperity has joined forces with Americans for Tax Reform, the Beacon Center, Senator Mark Green, and Representative Charles Sargent forming a plan to eliminate the Hall Income Tax.

SB 1427 by Green/ HB 1367 by Sargent

Beginning  January 1, 2015, annually reduces the rate of the Hall Income Tax by one percent in fiscal year 2015-2016, and one percent annually every year thereafter for a total phase-out over six years.

These reductions are applied only in years that state revenues match or exceed state growth of population plus inflation. These reductions will freeze in years when state revenues do not meet or exceed the rate increase of population plus inflation.

What is the Hall Income Tax?

Enacted in 1929, this regressive tax applies to interest and dividend income received by Tennesseans.

Who does this tax affect?

Seniors own a disproportionate percentage of dividend-paying stocks and are reduced to significantly smaller incomes in retirement as a result. The tax encourages more people to sell stocks rather than begin to draw income from the investments.

Removal of the Hall Income Tax will allow Tennessee to become completely Income Tax Free.


Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.