2 Tennessee Republicans Ask Super Committee for Higher Taxes

November 08, 2011

Late last week, a group of 100 U.S. Representatives sent a letter to the so-called Super Committee urging the handpicked group of twelve legislators to consider “all options for mandatory and discretionary spending and revenues” in order to reach the committee’s goal of $1.2 trillion in deficit reduction over the next ten years. In Washington, speak this is code for raising taxes.

Among this list is 40 Republicans whose capitulation encouraging the committee to raise taxes is troubling. We shouldn’t be surprised to see 60 Democrats seizing on the opportunity to drive a wedge between conservatives intent on restoring economic growth by keeping taxes low and Republican lawmakers who are starting to throw in the towel on keeping pressure on Democrats to cut spending.

We all know that the real driver of long-term deficits is runaway spending on entitlements and big government pet projects. In the past, lawmakers have cut deals that supposedly included both tax hikes and spending cuts. But when you get a few years down the road the spending cuts never materialize and the higher tax rates take a bite out of economic activity. We’re still climbing out of the recession and we cannot afford higher taxes slowing us down.

Click here if your representative is on the list to urge them to oppose tax hikes from the Super Committee.

See below a list of the 40 Republicans:

Charlie Bass – (R-NH) Cynthia Lummis – (R-WY)
John Carter – (R-TX) Tom Marino – (R-PA)
Howard Coble – (R-NC) David McKinley – (R-WV)
Tom Cole – (R-OK) Pat Meehan – (R-PA)
Ander Crenshaw – (R-FL) Devin Nunes – (R-CA)
Charlie Dent – (R-PA) Ron Paul – (R-TX)
Robert Dold – (R-IL) Tom Petri – (R-WI)
John Duncan – (R-TN) Todd Platts – (R-PA)
Jo Ann Emerson – (R-MO) Tom Reed – (R-NY)
Mike Fitzpatrick – (R-PA) Reid Ribble – (R-WI)
Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE) Phil Roe – (R-TN)
Paul Gosar – (R-AZ) Tom Rooney – (R-FL)
Mike Grimm – (R-NY) Mike Simpson – (R-ID)*
Richard Hanna – (R-NY) Marlin Stutzman – (R-IN)
Gregg Harper – (R-MS) John Sullivan – (R-OK)
Mike Kelly – (R-PA) Lee Terry – (R-NE)
Peter King – (R-NY) Bob Turner – (R-NY)
Jack Kingston – (R-GA) Ed Whitfield – (R-KY)
Steve LaTourette (R-OH) Frank Wolf – (R-VA)
Billy Long – (R-MO) Don Young – (R-AK)

* – Organized the Letter

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP