{{ AFP National Site


January 20, 2011 J

Greenville – The South Carolina chapter of the free market grassroots group Americans for Prosperity (AFP-SC) is proud to present the South Carolina federal delegation’s score on its Key Vote Scorecard. The group rated the top free market votes from the 111th Congress in the U.S. Senate and U.S. House. AFP also included the No Climate Tax pledge in its scorecard for the first time, indicating the importance of AFP’s opposition to using the climate change issue as a pretense to grow government.

“We are proud of Congressman Joe Wilson for his perfect score”, said Debbie Spaugh and Linda Weeks, Grassroots Co-Chairs of AFP-SC. “We commend Senators DeMint and Graham for their high scores. Congressmen Brown, Barrett, and Inglis scored A’s, but are not returning to Congress. Our other two Congressmen, Spratt and Clyburn, earned the lowest score possible (0%), proving that we cannot count on them to support free market legislation. Congressman Spratt was defeated in the November 2010 election. Congressman Clyburn has returned to Washington.”

The complete Key Vote Scorecard is available online:


The South Carolina delegation earned the following grades:
• Senator Jim DeMint – A
• Senator Lindsey Graham – A
• Representative Henry Brown – A
• Representative Joe Wilson – A+
• Representative Gresham Barrett – A
• Representative Bob Inglis – A
• Representative John Spratt – F
• Representative James Clyburn – F

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×