PR: AFP-NJ Thanks Ten NJ Congressmen for Voting No On Bloated Farm Bill

June 21, 2013
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, June 21, 2013    
Contact: Mike Proto at 201-487-8844 / 201-400-3666 or

AFP-NJ Thanks Reps. Andrews, Holt, Pallone, Pascrell, Payne, Sires, Garrett, Lance, LoBiondo, and Smith for Voting No on Bloated Farm Bill

Bogota, NJ – Americans for Prosperity, the leading grassroots voice fighting to stop the farm bill from passing Congress, today thanked ten members of the New Jersey congressional delegation for voting no on the bill.

“AFP thanks the ten New Jersey congressmen, including four Republicans who broke from Speaker Boehner and six Democrats, for voting against the wasteful, trillion dollar so-called ‘farm bill’,” explained Daryn Iwicki, Deputy State Director of AFP-New Jersey. “Rather than helping farmers this bill was riddled with corporate welfare for big corporations–while 80% of the bill was earmarked towards making more and more Americans dependent on food stamps.”

The no votes included: Robert Andrews (D-1), Scott Garrett (R-5), Rush Holt (D-12), Leonard Lance (R-7), Frank LoBiondo (R-2), Frank Pallone (D-6), Bill Pascrell (D-9), Donald Payne (D-10), Albio Sires (D-8), and Chris Smith (R-4).

“It’s deceitful bills like this which have Americans fed up with Congress,” Daryn continued. “And all the more reason AFP is deeply disappointed to see that both Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-11) and Rep. Jon Runyan (R-03) voted in favor of this fiscally irresponsible piece of legislation.”

For further information or an interview, please contact Mike Proto at or 201-487-8844 / 201-400-3666.

Americans for Prosperity (AFP) is a nationwide organization of citizen-leaders committed to advancing every individual’s right to economic freedom and opportunity. AFP believes reducing the size and intrusiveness of government is the best way to promote individual productivity and prosperity for all Americans. For more information, visit


Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP