{{ AFP National Site


7 Missouri Officials Win “Defender of Prosperity” Award

July 06, 2012

Americans for Prosperity-Missouri thanks Senators Rob Schaaf, Scott Rupp, Tom Dempsey and Representatives Eric Burlison, Dr. Keith Frederick, Donna Lichtenegger, Tim Jones for their leadership in successfully passing SB 464, which blocks the state from establishing state-based health insurance exchanges without a legislative act, an initiative petition, or a referendum. The law specifically blocks the Governor’s office from creating an exchange via executive order.

“This is an important victory for Missouri against Obama’s health care takeover,” explained Patrick Werner, State Director of Americans for Prosperity – Missouri. “On behalf of our 34,000 Missouri activists, AFP-Missouri applauds these citizen legislators for his efforts to promote limited government, free markets, and individual liberty by passing this law.”

As a result the leadership of these 7 citizen legislators, Americans for Prosperity – Missouri awarded them its Defender of Prosperity Award for 2012. This award is given to citizen legislators in the Missouri General Assembly who consistently stand up for free market solutions and fight bad policies that threaten our overall freedoms and liberty.

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×