{{ AFP National Site

Senate Refuses to Stand Up to EPA on Utility MACT

June 20, 2012 J

The vote on S.J.Res. 37, Senator Inhofe’s resolution to overturn the EPA’s costly Utility MACT, just failed in the Senate on a 46-53 vote.  Five brave Democrats should be recognized for voting in favor of this important resolution:

D’s voting “YES” to overturn EPA’s rule:

Landrieu (LA)

Manchin (WV)

Nelson (NE)

Warner (VA)

Webb (VA)

 Ultimately, five Republicans were responsible for senselessly tanking this important effort:

R’s voting “NO” on overturning the EPA’s rule:

Ayotte (NH)

Alexander (TN)

Brown (MA)

Collins (ME)

Snowe (ME)

Republican Senator Mark Kirk (IL) has not been voting recently due to health issues, and did not cast a vote on this resolution.

AFP issued its key vote alert in favor of Senator Inhofe’s resolution on Monday.  Even though the resolution failed, it remains important: Senators are now on the record (and on AFP’s scorecard) for whether or not they wanted to stand up to the EPA and their costly utility regulation.

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×