Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Americans for Prosperity/National Review US Iowa Senate GOP Primary Debate

October 23, 2013 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Americans for Prosperity – Iowa and the National Review present the Iowa GOP candidates for the United States Senate.

This debate will follow a panel debate format consisting of two media outlets and led by a head moderator from Americans for Prosperity. The moderator will ensure the debate is conducted in a timely and professional matter.


Panel Line-up

  • Moderator – Derrick Sontag – Americans for Prosperity
  • Panelist – Robert Costa – National Review
  • Panelist – Kathie Obradovich – Des Moines Register

Debate Participants

  • Sam Clovis
  • Joni Ernst
  • Scott Schaben
  • Matt Whitaker
  • David Young

Time Line

  • 5:30pm – Doors open for seating
  • 6:45pm – All attendees must be seated
  • 7:00pm – Welcoming remarks

Audience Conduct

The audience will be instructed to remain silent during the debate. The audience may only applaud when candidates are introduced on stage and once the debate is complete. No cameras will be allowed inside. However smartphones will be allowed into the debate hall and should be set on silent mode. Using flash photography from a smart phone is not authorized and will result in being escorted off the premise. There will be no signage or bags larger than a purse allowed in the facility. No candidate stickers, pins, t-shirts, or other materials may be worn, displayed, or otherwise visible by members of the audience.

We highly encourage the audience to utilize the free Wi-Fi Internet to provide updates on social media utilizing their candidates Twitter handle, @AFPIowa Twitter handle and the hashtag #AFPIowa.


October 23, 2013
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm


Sheslow Auditorium
2507 University Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50311 United States
+ Google Map