AFP-FL Applauds US House Candidate Karen Diebel for Signing “No Climate Tax” Pledge

October 13, 2011



Contact: Slade O’Brien (561) 441-5866 or James Valvo (703) 224-3200


Americans for Prosperity Applauds U.S. House Candidate Karen Diebel for Signing No Climate Tax Pledge-



West Palm Beach—The Florida chapter of the free market grassroots group Americans for Prosperity (AFP-FL) today applauded U.S. House candidate Karen Diebel for signing the group’s “No Climate Tax Pledge.” Diebel joins more than 550 bipartisan lawmakers and candidates on the federal, state and local levels pledging to “oppose legislation relating to climate change that includes a net increase in government revenue.”


AFP-FL State Director commented:

The one thing elected officials should agree on is that global warming shouldn’t be used as an excuse to hike taxes on citizens and businesses. We encourage all of Florida’s elected officials and candidates for elected office to sign the pledge.


Florida signers include: U.S. Senator Marco Rubio; U.S. Representatives Jeff Miller, Steve Southerland, Rich Nugent, Daniel Webster, Gus Bilirakis, C.W. Bill Young, Dennis Ross, Connie Mack, Bill Posey, Sandy Adams and David Rivera; Governor Rick Scott and Attorney General Pam Bondi.


O’Brien continued,

Using the guise of climate change to transfer dollars from hard-working citizens to bureaucratic big government is unacceptable. Regardless of their stance on global warming, this should be common ground for all of our elected officials at all levels of government.


The pledge is available online at AFP does not endorse candidates. All elected officials and candidates are encouraged to sign the pledge and go on the record in opposition to using the climate change issue to increase taxes and grow the size of government.


Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP