{{ AFP National Site
s

Newsroom

URGENT--Zombie Film Hand-Out Rises Again!

March 21, 2012

Dear Arizona Taxpayer–

Like the zombies in bad horror movies, the film industry keeps coming back and keeps trying to get the Arizona Legislature to give the industry subsidies paid for with your tax dollars.

This year, the film zombies are trying once again to raise their taxpayer-funded subsidies from the grave. In a zombie sneak attack, they have attached the bill as a strike-all amendment (“striker”) to another bill, HB 2127.

On March 14, AFP-Arizona and our allies kept the striker from being heard in the Senate Commerce Committee, but the zombies have risen again from the muck! Tomorrow (Tuesday, March 20, at 10:00 am), the zombies will try to push their striker to HB 2127 through the Senate Appropriations Committee.

The Dems on the committee appear to be in favor of the corporate-welfare handout to the film industry. But to pass the bill out of committee, the zombies will need to pick up several Repub votes. The following Senators are under a lot of pressure from the industry to vote for the striker. Please send them quick emails to encourage them to hold the line against the zombie movie subsidy.

Senator Sylvia Allen sallen@azleg.gov

Senator Andy Biggs abiggs@azleg.gov

Senator Rich Crandall rcrandall@azleg.gov

Senator Ron Gould rgould@azleg.gov

Senator Lori Klein lklein@azleg.gov

Senator Jerry Lewis jlewis@azleg.gov

Senator Al Melvin amelvin@azleg.gov

Senator Rick Murphy rmurphy@azleg.gov

Senator Don Shooter dshooter@azleg.gov

For more information about the zombie subsidies, see these great links from the Arizona Free Enterprise Club:

http://www.azfree.org/arizona-and-the-film-tax-credit-sequel/

http://www.azfree.org/film-tax-credit-testimony/

And thanks for all you do to defend and expand free enterprise in Arizona!

For Liberty,

–Tom

Tom Jenney
Arizona Director
Americans for Prosperity

http://www.aztaxpayers.org/

tjenney@afphq.org
(602) 478-0146

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×