{{ AFP National Site
s

Newsroom

Please thank House Approps members for Voting for Truth in Spending

March 17, 2012

Dear Arizona Taxpayer,

Senate Bill 1275, the Truth in Spending reform bill, has passed the House Appropriations Committee and now needs to get to the House floor for a final vote before going to the desk of Governor Jan Brewer. You can read more about Truth in Spending at the bottom of this post.

TAKE ACTION!

Please send the majority members of the House Appropriations Committee a short email note thanking them for advancing the Truth in Spending bill, SB 1275, in the Committee. It’s very important to say “Thank You” when Legislators vote against the pro-spending interest groups and their lobbyists. Also, these Committee members will have to vote Yes again on SB 1275 when the bill gets to the House floor for a final vote.!

(Your note can be as simple as “Dear Representative X, Thank you for voting Yes on SB 1275, the Truth in Spending reform bill, when it came to the Appropriations Committee on March 14. We need budget restraint and budget transparency. Sincerely, Joe & Jane Taxpayer.”)

The emails for the committee members who voted Yes are listed here (if you call, just leave short thank-you messages with members’ secretaries):

Rep. John Fillmore jfillmore@azleg.gov (602) 926-3012

Rep. Tom Forese tforese@azleg.gov (602) 926-5168

Rep. Russ Jones rjones@azleg.gov (602) 926-3002

Rep. John Kavanagh jkavanagh@azleg.gov (602) 926-5170

Rep. Nancy McLain nmclain@azleg.gov (602) 926-5051

Rep. Justin Olson jolson@azleg.gov (602) 926-5288

Rep. Michelle Ugenti mugenti@azleg.gov (602) 926-4480

Rep. Steve Urie surie@azleg.gov (602) 926-4136

Rep. Vic Williams vwilliams@azleg.gov (602) 926-5839

More action items:

1) Use our Action Page to send emails to your House members

2) Send a quick email to Governor Brewer’s policy advisors.

ARIZONA NEEDS TRUTH IN SPENDING!

Truth in Spending (SB 1275) would require a special vote if the Legislature wants to increase state spending at a rate that is faster than the rate of growth of state population plus inflation, and would increase budget transparency by requiring the Legislature to give the public two weeks’ notice before holding a public hearing on the budget.

Truth in Spending will serve as a “speed bump” for future Legislators–letting them know when spending growth outpaces the ability of the state economy to pay for that spending. As this chart shows, if Arizona had stuck to a spending limit based on population plus inflation (“TABOR”) since 2003, our deficit problems would not have reached the crisis proportions they reached during the past four years. Truth in Spending can help to keep Arizona from getting back on the spending rollercoaster that destroyed state finances during the Napolitano years.

This is NOT an onerous transparency requirement: every year, dozens of Arizona cities and towns provide their citizens with two weeks’ notice before budget and property tax hearings (thanks to the “Truth in Taxation” law). More information about Truth in Spending, including a printable pdf fact sheet, is available at http://tinyurl.com/truthspend.

To see how the Committee members (and other Legislators) scored on AFP-Arizona’s 2011 Legislative Scorecard, along with cumulative scores for past years, click here.

To learn more about AFP-Arizona’s 2012 Legislative Agenda, click here.

For Liberty, Tom

Tom Jenney
Arizona Director
Americans for Prosperity
www.aztaxpayers.org
tjenney@afphq.org
(602) 478-0146

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×