{{ AFP National Site
s

Possible victory against the AZ ObamaCare Medicaid expansion?

March 02, 2013 J,

To all Arizona Taxpayers and Health Care Consumers:

Despite the fact that Gov. Jan Brewer and powerful lobbyists are pushing Arizona to impose statewide taxes, including a hospital bed tax, to fund an expansion of Medicaid (AHCCCS) under ObamaCare, we think there is a strong chance we will win this battle.  Here are three good reasons we are likely to win:

1)  Grassroots activists (YOU and your friends!) have been putting strong pressure on Legislators.

It is vitally important for Arizona to stop the proposed Medicaid expansion, because the human and fiscal costs of that expansion would be enormous.  If you haven’t sent an email to your Legislators, please TAKE ACTION NOW.

2)  Conservatives on the House and Senate Appropriations Committees are likely to fight to protect taxpayers and defend Prop 108. 

With your encouragement, we are confident that the members of the Appropriations Committees will make sure that any Medicaid expansion bill contains a Prop 108 clause, thus requiring a two-thirds vote of the both chambers of the Legislature.  Please send those members (listed below) a note of encouragement.  Your email or voice mail message can be very short, for example: “I am writing to thank you for all you do for Arizona taxpayers on the Appropriations Committee, and to encourage you to make sure that any tax or fee increase for the Medicaid expansion is subject to a two-thirds vote of each chamber of the Legislature, as required by Prop 108.”  More information about Prop 108 and the ObamaCare Medicaid expansion is available at:  http://tinyurl.com/stopunelected

Rep. Paul Boyer  pboyer@azleg.gov  602-926-4173
Rep. Tom Forese  tforese@azleg.gov  602-926-5168
Rep. Rick Gray  rgray@azleg.gov  602-926-5993
Rep. John Kavanagh  jkavanagh@azleg.gov  602-926-5170
Rep. Adam Kwasman  akwasman@azleg.gov  602-926-5839
Rep. Justin Olson  jolson@azleg.gov  602-926-5288
Rep. Michelle Ugenti  mugenti@azleg.gov  602-926-4480

Sen. Chester Crandell  ccrandell@azleg.gov 602-926-5409
Sen. Gail Griffin  ggriffin@azleg.gov 602-926-5895
Sen. Al Melvin  amelvin@azleg.gov  602-926-4326
Sen. Rick Murphy  rmurphy@azleg.gov  602-926-4444
Sen. Don Shooter  dshooter@azleg.gov  602-926-4139
Sen. Kelli Ward  kward@azleg.gov  602-926-4138

3)  The more Legislators learn about the ObamaCare Medicaid expansion, the less likely it is that two thirds of them will vote for it.

Perhaps that is why none of the Governor’s staffers and no hospital lobbyists joined us for our February 21 panel on the Medicaid expansion — despite getting a month’s advance notice and an offer of equal time for pro-expansion arguments.  At the event, Michael Cannon of the Cato Institute, Christina Corieri of the Goldwater Institute and Phoenix surgeon Jeff Singer explained in depth why expansion would be a bad option for Arizona citizens and for the state budget.  To view video from the event (a great way to learn more about the arguments for and against the Medicaid expansion), go here.  And thanks to WesternFreePress.com for the video!

TUCSON DISCUSSION — March 7

On Thursday, March 7th, please join us for a discussion of the proposed ObamaCare Medicaid expansion in Tucson, at the Loft Cinema 3233 E. Speedway Blvd., from 6:30 to 8:30 pm.  Panelists will include AZ State Senator Steve Farley (Democrat — LD 9), AZ State Representative Ethan Orr (Republican — LD 9), AFP-Arizona director Tom Jenney, former AZ State Senator Frank Antenori, Tucson physician and health care reformer Dr. Jane Orient, M.D., TucsonCitizen.com columnist John Newport, PhD, and Arizona Board of Regents member Tyler Bowyer.  RSVP: Christine Bauserman, 520-235-2234, cb12221@gmail.com

Speaking of Tucson: check out this grassroots statement against the Medicaid expansion.

DONATE!

Please help AFP-Arizona fight the battle for health care freedom by going to www.aztaxpayers.org and clicking on the Donate button at top.  A contribution of $10, $25, $50, or $100 would be helpful to our efforts, and would enable us to mobilize more activists and put more pressure on elected officials.  Every little bit counts, and we can’t do what we do without great people like you standing with us!

For Liberty, Tom

Tom Jenney
Arizona Director
Americans for Prosperity
www.aztaxpayers.org
tjenney@afphq.org

 

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×