{{ AFP National Site
s

Paycheck Protection and Truth-in-Spending pass committees!

February 05, 2013 J,

TAXPAYER ACTION ALERT

Dear Arizona Taxpayer,

Please thank the conservative members of the Senate Government and Environment Committee for passing Paycheck Protection on February 4 and the House Federalism and Fiscal Responsibility Committee for passing Truth in Spending on February 5!  Click here for video from the HFFR Committee.

TAKE ACTION: It’s very important to thank our Legislators when they vote for pro-taxpayer bills in committee. Emails and phone numbers for the conservative members of the House Federalism and Financial Responsibility Committee and the Senate Government and Environment Committee are provided below the bill summaries.

Senate Bill 1182 — Paycheck Protection

Paycheck Protection (SB 1182), introduced by Sen. Gail Griffin (R-Cochise County) and many other co-sponsors, would prohibit government employers from taking money from employee’s paychecks for union activities without express annual authorization. The unions use our taxpayer dollars to withhold dues automatically from employee wages and to siphon political funds out of paychecks without safeguards for employees who disagree with the unions’ political agendas. Then, the unions use that money to lobby for more taxpayer dollars and to engage in electioneering in favor of Big Government candidates. We must protect workers’ freedom of association and pass Paycheck Protection in 2013!

House Bill 2285Truth in Spending reform bill

Truth in Spending (HB 2285), sponsored by Reps. Steve Smith (R-Pinal County) and David Stevens (R-Cochise County), would require a special vote if the Legislature wants to increase state spending at a rate that is faster than the rate of growth of state population plus inflation, and would increase budget transparency by requiring the Legislature to give the public advance notice before holding a public hearing on the budget. HB 2285 will serve as a “speed bump” for future Legislators–letting them know when spending growth outpaces the ability of the state economy to pay for that spending. As the chart in our FAQ sheet shows, if Arizona had stuck to a spending limit based on population plus inflation (“TABOR”) since 2003, our deficit problems would not have reached the crisis proportions they reached during the past four years. Truth in Spending can help to keep Arizona from getting back on the spending rollercoaster that destroyed state finances during the Napolitano years. This is NOT an onerous transparency requirement: every year, dozens of Arizona cities and towns provide their citizens with two weeks’ notice before budget and property tax hearings (thanks to the “Truth in Taxation” law).

PLEASE EMAIL & CALL THE COMMITTEE MEMBERS!

Be sure to send the conservative members short email notes thanking them for supporting Paycheck Protection and Truth in Spending. The members’ emails and phone numbers are listed below. If you call, just leave short messages with members’ secretaries.

Thank-yous for voting YES on Paycheck Protection (your note can be as simple as “Dear Sen. X, Thank you for voting in favor of Paycheck Protection (SB 1182) in committee. Sincerely, Joe & Jane Taxpayer”):

Sen. Gail Griffin ggriffin@azleg.gov (602) 926-5895

Sen. Judy Burges jburges@azleg.gov (602) 926-5861

Sen. Chester Crandell ccrandell@azleg.gov (602) 926-5409

Sen. Kelli Ward kward@azleg.gov (602) 926-4138

Thank-yous for voting YES on Truth in Spending (you note can be as simple as “Dear Rep. X, Thank you for voting in favor of Truth in Spending (HB 2285) in committee. Sincerely, Joe & Jane Taxpayer”):

Rep. Justin Olson jolson@azleg.gov (602) 926-5288

Rep. Steve Smith stsmith@azleg.gov (602) 926-5685

Rep. David Gowan dgowan@azleg.gov (602) 926-3312

Rep. Debbie Lesko dlesko@azleg.gov (602) 926-5413

Rep. Carl Seel cseel@azleg.gov (602) 926-3018

Please forward this email alert to your friends and family members!

To learn more about AFP-Arizona’s 2013 Legislative Agenda, click here.

 

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×