{{ AFP National Site
s

Government Employee Paycheck Protection--Help Protect Workers Paychecks from Union Spending!

February 06, 2014 J

February 2014 — Legislative Action Alert

SB1354 and SB1355, sponsored by Sen. Gail Griffin and Sen. Kelli Ward respectively, are two different versions of Paycheck Protection which ensure that government sector employees are protected from having third-party payments (including union dues and union political action funds) taken out of their paychecks without written or electronic consent.

These bills have been assigned to the Senate Government and Environment Committee, but have not been placed on an agenda as of now.  However, you can still take the following action today:

1)      Please use the following contact info to email or call the members of the Senate Government and Environment Committee and tell them to support the bill when it is placed on the agenda (and thank Chairwoman Griffin and Sen. Ward for sponsoring!):

  • Chairwoman Gail Griffin                    (602)-926-5895    ggriffin@azleg.gov
  • Sen. Judy Burges                                (602)-926-5861     jburges@azleg.gov
  • Sen. Chester Crandell                         (602)-926-5409     ccrandell@azleg.gov
  • Sen. Kelli Ward                                  (602)-926-4138     kward@azleg.gov
  • Sen. Carlyle Begay                             (602)-926-5862     cbegay@azleg.gov
  • Sen. Steve Farley                                (602)-926-3022     sfarley@azleg.gov
  • Sen. Katie Hobbs                                (602)-926-5325     khobbs@azleg.gov

2)      Click HERE to go to our Paycheck Protection Action page and contact the representatives of your own legislative district to let them know you expect them to vote in favor of this bill when it comes up for a floor vote.

And here are even more ways to take action:

1) Register in support of the bill: If you do not already have an account with the ALIS system, you will need to come down to the Capitol to set up an account at one of the several kiosks (after you sign up, you will be able to voice your opinion on bills from the comfort of your home). For help getting set up with an ALIS account, contact me at bfathauer@afphq.org. I or another member of our legislative team will also be at the Capitol in advance of the hearing to help anyone who needs to sign in.

2) Attend the committee hearings and testify in support of the bill: If you or someone you know has been personally affected by an issue being raised in committee, you can attend the hearing in person and tell your story. Requesting to speak also requires setting up an ALIS account in person if you do not already have one (see #1 above), but after that it is very easy to request to speak at any time from your home computer or a mobile device.

3) Spread the word: After you’re done lobbying your legislators yourselves, please forward this link to your friends and family — or anyone else you know — and show them how they can be a part of the process. Every new voice helps!

Thank you for all you do to help win free-market victories for the people of Arizona. I hope you’ll continue to stand with us going forward! To take action on other important bills, go to our TAKE ACTION webpage HERE.

 

Many thanks,

Bill Fathauer

Director, External Affairs

Americans for Prosperity-Arizona

Like this post? Chip in $5 to AFP.

Join Our Fight

The road to economic freedom starts here.
Join a network of AFP activists in important issue battles across the country, get the inside scoop with breaking news updates and policy alerts, and be the first to hear about special events near your home.  Help us fight for a better tomorrow.  Together, we can work for lower taxes, less government spending, and greater economic freedom for everyone.

Your Information

[contact-form-7 id="544" title="Subscribe"] ×